Day 87 – Within My Hula Hoop

Friday, June 6th 4:29p.m.

I just learned how to hula hoop.

I met up with my host’s mother at a coffee shop yesterday, intending to spend an hour talking about writing with another traveling writer. Hours later we were hula hooping in the parking lot waiting.

This woman left a relationship with her husband, left her job, left her house, left her comfortable life in pursuit of freedom and self-expression, and now she lives out of her car traveling around the country, teaching writing classes, doing odd jobs, hula hooping, meeting friends, and writing poetry. I immediately felt a soul connection. So I followed her to a nearby park for my first hula hooping lesson, and within a few hours the hula hoop was spinning around my waist, my neck, my arm. 

She then mentioned that she was going to an Al-Anon meeting that night. Both my sweethearts are in this program and I have been encouraged to go, so I asked if I could join. We made our way to the basement of a church and for an hour I heard people pour out their thoughts and feelings openly to each other, about the stresses of dealing with the alcoholics in their lives and about how important it is to admit that you have power only over yourself. When I was at the Lakota camp in South Dakota, a good friend of mine told me that deja vu was a sign that you are on the right path. The topic of conversation at the Al-Anon meeting was change, the day after I tattooed the delta change symbol on my leg, so I immediately felt like I was in the right place. 

I wasn’t immediately sold on the program, but I think I’m going to keep going.

 

 

What do you think?

